top of page
  • taylerpalmer

How to GIF.

In class we have been digging into many things, but this Material inquiry has peeked my interest quite a bit.

Below is a GIF that I created in a couple hours after figuring out the "recipe" for creating one on Photoshop.

This activity has challenged me to go above and beyond with what Photoshop skills I had. Which definitely wasn't much considering I had only used this software a few times since I started college.

What I learned:

I struggled with the layering when it came to the animation. Some layers would stay when I didn't want them to, but I soon figured out that I could just click the individual slides and make the certain parts disappear or appear when needed. It was difficult, yet ,the more I messed around with each options the more I was enjoying the activity. I just wanted to learn more about Photoshop and how to create images or animations.I never thought that I would be creating something this cool yet so simple. The outcome of this was very satisfying and I enjoyed creating this GIF.

What comes next?

I want to dive deeper into this way of creating and implement this into my future practice.

How might this be useful in an art classroom?

Think of all of the possibilities this could give students, they see this type of thing everyday on the internet. Some may click with the digital way of creating rather than physically creating a art piece. Why not expose them to this one possibility of creating and exploring?

(coffee was a need in this activity)

.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page