top of page
  • taylerpalmer

The Impossible turned possible!

This post is tying to the previous in-devour of my journey with the impossible project.


 

I left off not knowing why my circuit wasn't working when I was incorporating it into the embroidery piece. I would work on it when I was at work and I was getting frustrated that it just wouldn't light up. I knew that nothing in my circuits touched and that nothing was too loose so I was at a stand still..


The next week when we got back to class, I was determined to figure out the problem. So, I began taking out the circuit that was attached to the work and placed the pieces out on the table. I thought there was something wrong with the battery holder piece, so I went to the cabinet and got the box of sew-able components. I took out another battery holder and a battery. I then grabbed a few alligator clips and sat at my table to begin my investigation.


 


Step one was attaching the clips to the old battery, battery pack and a light to see if it would work...It didn't so I went on to step two. Step two was to switch out the battery holder and add the old battery...again didn't work. Step three, I put in a new battery into the battery holder to see if it was the battery that just wasn't working....this was the moment that the impossible became possible for me. The first battery that didn't work must have been defective, because I pulled it straight from the package so me finally finding out the problems gave me a huge sense of relief.

So after I found out the issue I still went in being extremely cautious with how I put in the thread. During each stage of assemblage I would sew each piece one by one and each time I would attach alligator clips along the way to make sure that when I finally put in the light it would work.



After I successfully managed to attach the lights I began the process of finishing the embroidery at the top part of the piece. I finished it rather quickly and I definitely fell in love with the end result.



This project allowed me to have creative freedom, caused me to stress a little, but in the end it was a great learning experience.

In my future practice I want to allow my students to have the creative freedom and learning experience that this class has instilled upon us all.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page